The Coppermine Incident

by

So, we visited a pretty cool copper mine. I decided to do some field recording down there, so Staffan and I joined the english tour and went down 67 metres to the CORE OF THE EARTH or maybe just slightly above it.  There has been a lot of rumours as to what happened next, so I’m here to set the record straight, but I doubt the google swedish translation will do little to enlighten my swedish speaking friends. There were a few hurdles to overcome to record down there, one being the tour guide always talking, also the 20 odd tourists and their kids making annoying human noises, and also protecting the recorder from the damp, and avoiding the recording of the rustling of the orange capes we had been provided with.

Read more – with sound…

theorangeman

One solution was to hang at the back, and wait until most people had gone on to the next area and then record. This worked well at first, as it was easy to catch up and hard to get lost, but as I was recording in a particularly interesting cave, I had to go up a flight of stairs to catch up. Once I reached the top, There was no tour group and a choice of two tunnels! I chose the one that looked more ”official”. As I proceeded, I started to get worried. The tunnel was getting narrower and narrower, and I eventually had to bend over double to get through. I came out to a wide open cave to see a welcome site – some overweight tourists going down a set of stairs,  the last few stragglers of what I thought was my tour group. As I waited behind them, I realised there were no familiar faces amongst them….

I asked if it was the english speaking tour group, got pointed in vague direction as to where said group might be, and was on my way again. Fun Fun Fun. At last, I spotted the familiar face of my tour guide(although they all looked surprisingly similar, and possibly related), and was shepherded back into the flock for the last segment of the tour.  I was quite relieved, but also glad I did it, I got some lovely ambient sound. Well I think its lovely.

In the last leg of the tour, we learnt all about how Fet-Mats the unlucky miner went missing for 42 years and was found perfectly preserved. Luckily, I was only gone five minutes.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

In Google Swinglish:

Så besökte vi en ganska cool koppargruva. Jag bestämde mig för att göra ett område inspelning där nere, så Staffan och jag gick med i engelska turné och gick ner 67 meter till kärnan i jord eller kanske bara något över den. Det har varit en hel del rykten om vad som hände sen, så jag är här för att ställa in post raka, men jag tvivlar på Googles svenska översättningen kommer inte att upplysa min svenska talar vänner. Det fanns några hinder att övervinna för att spela där nere, en är färdledare alltid talar också 20 udda turister och deras barn att göra irriterande mänskliga ljud, och även skydda brännaren från fukt och undvika registrering av prassel av den orange slängkappor vi hade getts.

En lösning var att hänga på baksidan, och vänta tills de flesta hade gått vidare till nästa område och sedan spela in. Detta fungerade bra i början, eftersom det var lätt att komma i kapp och svårt att gå vilse, men som jag spelar in i ett särskilt intressant grotta, jag var tvungen att gå upp en trappa för att komma ikapp. När jag nått toppen, Det fanns ingen turné och ett val av två tunnlar! Jag valde en som såg mer ”officiell”. Som jag fortsatte, jag började att få orolig. Tunneln blev smalare och smalare, och jag så småningom var tvungen att böja mer än dubbelt för att få igenom. Jag kom ut till en vidöppen grottan för att se en Welcome – vissa överviktiga turister gå ned ett antal trappor, de senaste stragglers vad jag trodde var min turné grupp. Som jag väntade bakom dem, jag insåg att det inte fanns några bekanta ansikten bland dem ….

Jag frågade om det var den engelska talar turné grupp, har pekat på vag riktning att där nämnda grupp kan vara, och var på vägen igen. Kul Kul Kul. Äntligen har jag upptäckt att känna inför min färdledare (trots att de alla såg förvånansvärt lika, och eventuellt närstående), och var shepherded tillbaka till flocken för den sista delen av turen. Jag var ganska lättad, men också glad att jag gjorde det, jag fick några härliga omgivande ljud. Jo jag tror det vackra.

I den sista delen av turen, vi har lärt oss allt om hur FET-Mats den olyckliga miner försvann för 42 år och fann helt bevaras. Lyckligtvis hade jag bara gått fem minuter.

2 svar to “The Coppermine Incident”

  1. Scott Tucker Says:

    Hello there, I discovered your website by means of Google whilst looking for
    a related topic, your website came up, it looks great.
    I’ve bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.
    Hi there, simply was aware of your blog via Google, and found that it’s really informative.
    I am going to watch out for brussels. I will appreciate in the event you continue this in future.
    Numerous other folks might be benefited out
    of your writing. Cheers!

  2. cbs sports desk Says:

    It is the best time to make a few plans for the future and it is time to be
    happy. I’ve learn this post and if I may just I want to suggest you some attention-grabbing things or tips. Maybe you could write subsequent articles relating to this article. I desire to read more issues about it!

Lämna en kommentar